April 25, 2021

Invitation to join EME’s ERA Townhall Saturday May 1st

By Kamala, Natalie, Wendy, Thila and the entire EME Team worldwide. 

We are very excited to invite you to attend our Equal Means Equal 2021 ERA Townhall which will take place virtually on Saturday May 1st at 2pm PST/4pm CST/5pm EST.

The goal of the Townhall is to encourage an inclusive and transparent dialogue regarding ERA strategy for 2021 between the leadership of the relevant National Women’s Organizations and the grassroots advocates as well as the public, many of whom are confused and concerned by the present politics surrounding the amendment and its status, now that the new Biden/Harris administration has taken over.

We believe that any legal or strategic disagreements amongst us will benefit from open and honest discussion and we look forward to building unity and finding consensus on how to best move forward to achieve ERA for American women in the immediate future under the present administration.

Please mark your calendars:  the EME ERA townhall will stream online on Saturday May 1st from 2pm- 5pm PST / 4-7pm CST/ 5pm – 8pm EST

For the first half of the session, leadership and their legal advisors from each of the major organizations will present their strategy, position, and proposed actions on ERA in 2021 to the public.

Each organization will have the floor for between 5 and 10 minutes.

After presentations the floor will be open to moderated questions from the public for an hour.

Lastly, the focus will turn to finding consensus to implement an immediate timeline, strategy and disseminate “calls to action” on ERA.

It is our hope and expectation that we will then be able to proceed in effective unity in the service of our mutual goals:  immediate adoption of ERA as the 28th Amendment to the United States Constitution.

EME has extended invitations to major national women’s organizations including:

ERA Coalition

Equality USA

Feminist Majority

Generation Ratify

Katrina’s Dream

National Organization for Women (NOW)

National Women’s Political Caucus (NWPC)

National Black Women’s Congress

Ultraviolet

United Nations Women

We are pleased to announce this townhall in fellowship with the those, including the following, who wish to engage in a robust and reasoned discussion about the immediate strategy for ERA:

Center for Common Ground/Reclaim Our Vote; ERA Action; ERA NOW New England Coalition; Feminists in Struggle; Southwest Voter Education & Registration Project; United Coalition for Humanity; and many, many more!

We are looking forward to your participation!  Please spread the word throughout your networks and on social media.

With love and thanks,

Kamala, Natalie, Wendy, Thila and Team EME

PS: Your generous tax-deductible contributions are an investment in our results-driven organization on the frontlines of the fight for equality. Any amount is greatly appreciated, but for donations of $500 or more we’ll send you our exclusive (and very popular!) handmade Equal Means Equal hoodie as a special thank you.